top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKip Critchlow

GUEST POST: My 3 Favorite Tools To Use with Garageband

Updated: May 27, 2022

It's time for another guest post! I know nothing about making music or using cool music techy stuff, but my hubby does! He started his own music site www.kcfrenzy.com and has a unique talent for creating music. So I asked him to write a post talking about it. Thanks Kip! Readers, enjoy :)


Hello all my music friends! This is a guest post from Nicole's husband, Kip. :)


Today I'm going to share my 3 favorite tools to use with Garageband.


Let's get started!


But first...a little about Garageband.


What is Garageband?


Garageband is a free music tool from Apple. It's designed to be user friendly but still a powerful tool to create or record music in any genre.

An image of the Garageband platform
Screenshot from Apple.com

I use Garageband to make all my songs that I release for KCFRENZY. That's my music artist name and I've been putting out music for a couple of years now.

I may be a little biased, but I love Garageband. It's easy to use and allows me to create music quickly because I'm used to how it works.


The one drawback is that you have to have a Mac computer in order to use the software. They don't offer it for PC computers or other operating systems.


So just what can you create on Garageband? And is the music high quality?


Listen to this song and tell me what you think...



Not bad, right? You can create some awesome music!


Garageband comes with everything you need out of the box, but you can also use other tools with it. Hence the reason I'm writing this post.


Here's what else I use with it when making songs.


1. USB Midi Keyboard


The tool I use the most with Garageband is a USB Midi keyboard. I grew up taking piano lessons and that's where my love for composing music began.


So when I want to make a really good techno song, I always pull out my Midi Keyboard. It's where I create my best music.


You just plug the USB chord into the piano and it hooks right up to Garageband. Then you can play all the sounds and record directly from the keys as you play.


I use a 25 key midi, but they have other sizes like a 49 key.


If you need a Midi keyboard, you can find a good one on Amazon from M-Audio. They always have really great reviews!


2. Launchpad from Novation


Another tool I use often with Garageband is my launchpad. This thing is awesome! You play the pad with your fingers and the colors are spectacular.


The launchpad is great for creating drum tracks, hip hop, and techno. I like to use it when I would rather play the rhythm with my hands.


I used it to create on of my favorite songs called Asa Bassa. I named the song that because my brother-in-law Asa was the one who gave me the launch pad as a Christmas gift.


It was the very first song I created with the launchpad so I named it after him in his honor.



The launchpad by Novation is a great tool for any music creator, especially if you create techno music like I do.


You can find it on Amazon. It's more expensive, so if you can get it as a Christmas gift I highly recommend it! Thanks again, Asa. :)


3. USB Microphone


The third and last product I use quite a bit with Garageband is a USB Microphone. It's great for recording vocals, podcasts, and any other audio.


Garageband does come with a built in Microphone that is really good. But, the USB Microphone is better quality and gives everything a more professional feel.


If you're going to be doing any vocals or just need a good microphone for zoom calls at work, it's a really good investment.


I bought mine over 5 years ago and it still works great. I find more uses for it everyday and always come back it when I need to record something really high quality.


You can find them on Amazon for an affordable price. This one had really high reviews.


Bonus Tip: DistroKid


So far, I've only shared tools I use to create music. But what about music distribution? Have you ever wanted to get your songs on Spotify?


Keep reading.


It's actually very easy to get your music on Spotify, Apple Music, and other major streaming platforms. The way to do it is called DistroKid.

Distrokid music distribution platform.
Screenshot from Distrokid.com

DistroKid is an affordable music distribution platform and it's what I use to get all my songs online.


Plans start at $19.99 per year and you can upload as many songs as you want.


They pay you 100% of your royalties from all the platforms and they make it really easy to get started.


So if you want your songs out there amongst the music community, DistroKid is the way to go!


Conclusion


There you have it! Those are the three tools that I use with Garageband to make all my awesome music!


And I also shared how to get your music on all the major streaming platforms. It's so simple with DistroKid.


I hope this post was helpful and best of luck in your music journey! Rock on...🎵🎵🎵







34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page