top of page
Search
  • Nicole Critchlow

I Found a Lump in my Breast

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

Today I got my first mammogram. Why did I have to get a mammogram at age 31? Well, I found a lump in my left breast.


Let's start with this: mammograms are not as bad people say. I mean, I guess for me they aren't bad. I was under the impression that it was going to be like a garage door squishing my boob flat. So naturally I was having a bit of anxiety about going.


But...It wasn't like that at all!


The picture below shows how it goes:

Image credit: https://www.cancer.gov/publications/dictionaries/cancer-terms/def/mammography

The most uncomfortable thing for me was having my head turned to the side up against the window thing. But it didn't hurt at all when they actually pushed the plate down on my breast to flatten it.


I also had to get an ultrasound on the area where the lump is. I hadn't ever experienced an ultrasound anywhere else besides my belly when I'm pregnant. It was cool to see the tissue inside of my breast!


Here's the good new: no cancer! I had known that if the lump is tender then that is a good sign. Cancerous lumps don't hurt. The lump in my breast is soft, kind of moves around and changes in size throughout my cycle. Cancerous lumps don't.


I had suspected that it might be a cyst. But nope! It is just dense tissue. That's it! Nothing needs to be done!

I'm so incredibly relieved! I know that a lot of people don't get the good news I did today. My heart truly goes out to you if you are struggling with breast cancer ❤️ There was a sign in one of the exam rooms that read:


"There is power in positivity"


I believe in that and I believe in you. Keep fighting my friend!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page