top of page
Search
  • Nicole Critchlow

I Got My Bachelor's Degree at 31

I had always regretted not getting my bachelor's degree when I was younger and already in school. I had one semester left. Yes ONE. But I was SO incredibly burnt out with school. I was a super super super super senior. I had transferred to four different schools. I just was done.


I always hated it when people asked me how much longer I had. I felt so lame saying I only had 1 more semester to go.


So, 8 years later I decided to go for it. I applied at Western Governors University to get my bachelor's in business, with an emphasis in healthcare management. August 2019 was the month I started, and December 2021 was the month I finished.

Why did I pick WGU?


The classes are all online. I didn't have to drive to a campus or talk to anyone (anti-social over here sometimes...). I could study in my pj's. I could study whenever I wanted to, which was usually at night. I didn't have to worry about missing any classes if something came up with my kids.


Another reason is because they have a flat tuition for each term. You pay a flat fee, and then get as many classes done as you can. Currently, to get an undergraduate in business, it is $3,575. They do have a lot of financial aid resources, which I definitely utilized.


You aren't limited to how many classes you can take in a term. That is how a lot of people accelerate and get their degree faster. If I hadn't fallen asleep so many times while studying, I probably could have finished a lot faster!


You will get a program mentor that you have to talk on the phone with a couple of times a month. They just check to make sure you are on track with your degree and are there to help with anything you need.


It was really tough for me at times. I was so tired after working and taking care of the kids. There were about 3 times when I seriously considered withdrawing and quitting.


But I'm glad I didn't. Because I was able to accomplish something that I had wanted to for a long time!

What am I doing with my degree? Nothing at the moment. But I have it for in the future. Way to go me!


If you are considering going back to school, WGU is a great place. You can do it!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page