top of page
Search
  • Nicole Critchlow

I Hated My Body

April 16, 2019. That's the day I knew I had to do SOMETHING about the way I was feeling. I was standing in the dressing room at Target, trying to find something new to wear. I stared at my body in each mirror they had in there. I could see every angle of myself. I was honestly in shock that I had "let myself go" that bad!


My butt was big and saggy.

My stomach was round and jiggly.

My arms were flabby.

I had a double chin.

My thighs were thunder thighs.

My muffin top was prominent.

I had back fat that squished out with my bra.


I put my maternity pants back on (5 months postpartum) and slipped into my very loose flowy shirt. And then I left the store without buying anything.


Disgusted. Fat. Depressed. Sad. Angry. Frustrated. Irritated. Gross. Unattractive. Big. Ew.


I felt all of those feelings and more. I had always been thin and in pretty good shape my whole life. What happened? Yes, I had kids. Yes, my body had changed. But I also had just stopped caring about exercising. I just ate whatever I wanted and as much as I wanted.


I wasn't happy. I didn't even want my husband to look at me. I didn't want to look at myself. I didn't want to run into anyone that I had known before I had kids. I knew what they would think. They would say to themselves "Wow. She has gotten big! She used to be so skinny!" I've said that to myself about people I haven't seen in a while. I knew others would say that about me. Come on, we've all done it.


I couldn't live like that. I couldn't live with hating myself.


One of my favorite quotes is this:

Image credit: https://www.instagram.com/p/By0dOQ7FYaP/?igshid=lrs87u4vk4ao&epik=dj0yJnU9dkVqeF9VMG9yY3dkc2paM0xSMVJEM3pHQl9UV2l0UzcmcD0wJm49OG01Z2lGWTY1UlNUQkt0QzY0RkhGdyZ0PUFBQUFBR0plOTZR

So I decided to make a change. I decided to take control of my diet and exercise. April 18, 2019. That is the day I decided to start a new journey. I signed up for Beachbody.


Now I'm not saying that Beachbody is the path for you to find happiness with your body and your health. But it was for me!


It's been over 3 years now and I have come such a long way! Not only do I feel better about myself, but have developed healthy habits. No, I'm not perfect. But I am definitely in a better place than I was, both mentally and physically.


Before you see these pictures below, just know that I am horrible at taking before and after pics. I don't know what happened with the lighting there.... and they are kinda of crooked. But you can still see a difference :)



It has taken me over 3 years to get to where I am today. I haven't been perfect. But I have learned how to take care of myself. And if I mess up, I try not to beat myself up for it.


So, if you are struggling with how you feel in your body and with your overall health, do something about it. Find a way to fuel your body with the right foods. Get your body moving. Remember, nothing changes if nothing changes!

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page